• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Putting a cigarette lighter in a CUCV

AJMBLAZER

I'm a wiring noob. Never completely wired a component before so bear with me and use simple terms.

Anybody put a cig lighter in their CUCV?
What has to be done?
Where'd you run it to in the fuse box?
What gauge wire did you use?
etc etc etc...

ultim8gamr

I'm doing the same thing. I am going to run a wire from the positive terminal of the front battery back to a stereo, CB, and cigarette lighter and then run a ground back to attach where the negative grounds to the body. I will probably be using an inline fuse (the CB already has one). I am trying to find a good place to run the wire through the firewall on the pass side, there is the wires that go into the cab from behind the fuel filter unit, but they look sealed pretty well. on the drivers side i ran a PA speaker wire down through a hole near the hood hinge and through the kick panel vent unit (between the plastic and the metal of the cab) and so i might do something like that on the pass side. anyone know of a good place to run these wires? I should have it done by monday or tuesday. I'm going to radioshack tomorrow and i can find out the right gauge wire for the job. I've seen universal cigarette lighter kits at walmart so i will either do that or pull one from a junker (my 1st choice) to keep it stock looking. Just my bit of input on the matter. Please more info from those of you who have already done it.
John

AJMBLAZER

RE: Re: Putting a cigarette lighter in a CUCV

I got my cig lighter at Advanced Auto. Cig lighters are sorta universal as there's only a few different styles to the actual warming element of it. Mine is the "GM style".