• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Quick tips on getting parts for m939s

Hawssie

I am new to these trucks and I am now in need for some parts. I have been snooping around the vender forums and it seems its hit and miss as far as specific parts go unless you want parts from salvage trucks. I was wondering what are the best options for parts for these trucks. I imagine it depends a lot on what your after so I will list a few parts i need right now to get an idea of some good sources. I need a E brake cable, a headlight, a Fuel tank sending unit, front windshield, wiper air motor, hood to fender rubber rest stops. On some of the parts it doesn't seem that used would be the best option unless thats all there is or prices are outrageous. I thought I could have the glass cut since its flat but the rest Im not sure about. I have seen the headlights far sale though. I do see the venders advertisements, I am not that blind but I thought I would maybe ask recommendations for any certain places to begin with since I have not bought anything yet.. Thanks

162tcat

I use Eriks military surplus if I need something from a vendor. The prices are usually fair and they've always had what I needed.

wreckerman893

Possum Connoisseur
I now know that getting a fan clutch for the 8.3 Cummins in the A2 trucks is an exercise in frustration.:confused:

I took the old one to Fleetpride and they could not match it.:?:

Cummins in Birmingham is equally clueless.:shrugs:

Evidently it is a proprietary item built for HARSCO/BMY for the trucks they rebuilt and made from unobtainium. :cookoo:

I have a fellow member that is a mechanic at a military installation that is trying to find a source for them.[thumbzup][thumbzup]