• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Replacing 6TL / 6TMF batteries w/ Civis

PUZZLED

Hello All,

A few weeks ago the batteries in my Deuce decided to commit suicide while I was 40 miles away from home at a shooting competition. Luckily there was a guy there with a dually that pulled me up a bit so i could get her running. (in fact he did it twice because i wanted to stop and have a beer w/ the guys... Thanks Dale).

So I've spent a good bit of time digging around for replacement batteries and info on the swap. It seems there is a lot of conversation all around about the different batteries and switching to Civis from the parts store, but no concrete info. I work on cars for a living so, due to experience, I'll NEVER put an Optima in anything but my worst enemies car. I also don't like the price of the easily attainable batteries, or the wait it would take me to get the correct battery for cheap. On top of all that, the warranties for all the normal options are terrible. They range from the "tail light" warranty -to- "one year, limited".

Goal:
Fix truck inexpensively w/ parts of o.k. quality or an awesome warranty to combat the lack there of, and do it WITHOUT having to get crazy w/ bracket or cable modifications.

Batteries: