• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Rookie with new m101a1, pintle hook questions and more

mudder92

hey everybody, i am new to the mv scene and i just won a m101a1 trailer from GL and i am waiting for my euc to clear. my question is, what kind of hitch hook do i need to buy to be able to pull this trailer? i have a 1992 fullsize bronco, and i have a frame mount reese hitch, but i have never messed with anything with a pintle type deal on it. i went to tractor supply and the guy there said i had to cut off the tongue and weld a regular style hitch up, but i want to keep it like it is, and just buy a pintle hook that i can put into my reese hitch. i searched the few posts that came up with pintle and m101a1 and none answered my question about how to hook it to a regular hitch and what size/weight to buy. also, i will only use this to haul trash to landfill, my atv, and maybe my lawnmower, nothing heavy. also, when i go to pick the trailer up, is there any special stuff i should look for or adjust before i tow it home? i got tired of borrowing my friends trailer and i ended up google'n trailers and ran across GL. and it was way cheaper to buy from them and they look freaking cool and heavy duty too, the look is the main reason. but anyway, i appreciate everyone who reads/replies help. thanks

Also, this site is awesome, there is tons of cool pics and all kinds of info on here.

hndrsonj

Senior Chief/Moderator
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
First off go back to tractor supply and smack that idiot upside the head, don't cut up your trailers tongue. They make slide in receivers for the pintle hitch trailers. I believe tractor supply even sells them. Any decent truck 4wd store should have them.[thumbzup]

wikallen