• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Small leak from rear transmission

rjinga

Disclaimer - I'm not a mechanic, and I did do a thread search AND check the TM manuel before posting.

I've got a small leak coming from my rear differential. It appears to be coming out of where the U joints meet the differential? (see circle in photo)

I have been in the water lately. No more than a few minutes at most (got temporarily stuck), but the differential was probably submerged. I noticed a "wet spot" the morning after being in the water. It was a bigger leak/spot that day than today.

Possible causes and solutions?

Attachments

Last edited:

ODdave

Yup, easy fix. a impact will help removing the pinion nut.
Dont throw caution to the wind though, you do need to know what your doing. The pinion nut needs to be re-installed to the EXACT same tourque that it was proir to removing. to loose and the pinion can "walk" in & out causing gear wear & noise, posibly spin a bearing on the pinion. To tight and there will be excesive gear wear & heat on the bearings causing them to burn up.

"technicaly" you should repace the crush sleave.

I am not trying to scare or deture you from doing the job, just read up and make shure you do it correctly.

bguy193