• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Snow plowing Yankee Style

zak

I've been using this to plow snow for for more than twenty years. It began life as my first ride, a stock 59 Jeep CJ5 with a 4cyl engine. Like all kids I had to hot rod it so I added a 215 c.i. olds aluminum v8. It served well for about the next ten years until the body rusted away. Not being one to get rid of something that still worked, I made up this mess. A oil tank cut in half makes a good rear box. I was going to add a hydraulic cylinder and make a dump box but never got around to it. I just finished clearing the 6" of overnite snow and will probably have to do it again before dark. It gets allittle cold sometimes but its beter than walking behind a snowblower up a 300 foot drive. :D

Attachments

pa.rich

You could build a wood fire in the oil tank, that would be good. Good visibility on that jeep that way! Hang on to it they are great for plowing. A friend of mine from 35 years ago had one with a 327 in it. I drove it and you never had to down shift. That engine could have tore the drivetrain apart if I got on the gas too hard.

emr

That would be funny, U could put a burn barrel in the bed and tell people its run on steam! I think alot would believe it. LOL. I would drive that beuty too!!! Randy

citizensoldier

Whew! Good deal.. Just checking and I hope you dont do it again.. Knock on wood..click, click , click .. Ouch now my head hurts... lol
I sure can tell the budget cut backs are in place on weekends! No overtime this year! I think I will take the snowmobile to get groceries next time we have a storm on a weekend.. I was rolling snow up on the hood of the Subaru! :driver:

TedG