• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Spacers to Raise the Seats

KamikazeKunze

Hey All,

Quick question for you all. I have my interior out for the new dash OER (POS) and roll on bedliner and then carpet with mass backing. Dang cab to TOO LOUD.

Question part. I feel like I’m a little kid driver grandpa’s truck. I’m 5’9” and it feels like I’m in a low rider. Anyone ever lifted or raised their seats?
I’d love and extra 2” so I can have a bit more altitude for a better vantage point.

thanks a bunch

cucvrus

I would make some spacers out of flat bar. Something solid so the seat remains solid in the mounts. If you use a pliable spacer it will just flex the floor pan and seat base causing stress cracks. 2 inch flat bar comes in sizes tin foil to 2" and that would work fine. Use the 3/8" NC bolts and space it as needed. I would span 2 hole with one piece as mush as possible distribute the weight out more evenly. just an idea. Have a great day. Flat bar is your friend when building seat mounts with out hacking and drilling the stock floor plan.

Tinstar

Super Moderator
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
I raised the rear attachment points by 2”, using aluminum spacers.
Wife had the same complaint.
Now seat is a much more comfortable angle.

Unless you have a tilt steering wheel installed, also raising the front will put your thighs almost into bottom of steering wheel.

KamikazeKunze

Thank you ll for the ideas? I had thought of using spacers or a 2” stock to lift the seat. My concern is I like the pitch so raising the back and not the front might feel weird.
I may weld up a bracket for the rear because if it raise the front the since it’s at an angle the rear holes won’t line up.