• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Still have voltage with neg batt cable disconnected??

Commander5993

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Hey all,

12 Volt systems I know, but I'm still pretty new to 24v DC systems.

So here's what happened:
Today I was doing the Doghead Under the Dash Starter Relay Mod. I disconnected the negative (which goes to frame/ground) battery cable on the front battery. Took everything apart inside, cut the wires, and was stripping the wires for the new connections, when suddenly to my surprise I got a spark!

So after this I got out my voltage tester, and sure enough the red wire had 24v. So I disconnected the cable between the front positive battery, to the rear (next to the firewall) battery's negative terminal. After doing this, didn't show voltage anymore.

I had to post this to ask, Is this Normal??!

I've never head of (nor can I wrap my mind around) disconnecting the negative battery cable, which should brake the circuit, but then still have voltage. Like I said, I'm still pretty new to the 24v system, so maybe this is why.

My next question is:
If I wanted to install a battery cutoff switch under the hood, which cable or cables would I have to install a switch into, to be able to cut all power to all systems?

Thanks Guys!

doghead

4 Star General /Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
If you search the site a bit, you should find several threads where we've answered these things before.

Last edited:

Commander5993

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Ok, I've done some searching, and from what I can find this apparently is "normal" for the system to do this. Which is still weird to me how it's possible.