• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Strange Part

rmesgt

Steel Soldiers Supporter
A while ago, I purchased a deuce for its parts. I have been slowly removing parts and pieces, cleaning and painting them as I go and putting them in my "Parts Room". While working on disassembly, I noticed this critter attached to my steering linkage. I studied it for a bit, following the hoses and trying to understand what it is and how it works.

20240201_135833.jpg20240201_135820.jpg

These two items are connected by flexible, cloth covered hoses. They appear to be a pneumatic "power steering" system, or at least a steering enhancement. Have any of you all seen this system on your trucks? Please advise...

Peace in Christ...
Leo

rmesgt

Steel Soldiers Supporter
That is the "Air-O-Matic" steering assist system. It was a military kit first available in the 1980's.
NDT... Thank you for pointing me in the right direction! I found this add-on kit in TM 9-2320-386-24P, Figure 120 (+). I think I will put this on my daily driver. I have no idea how to bench test it, but I will figure something out. I haven't been able to locate a rebuild kit yet, but I am sure it's available somewhere. I think my biggest fear is the assist cylinder being scarred or pitted. After seeing what was inside my airpack, I wouldn't be surprised if the assist cylinder is filled with water or something...

Peace in Christ...
Leo

HDN

I didn't realize the Air-O-Matic was a military kit! How was it decided whether any were purchased? Did units who consistently skipped "Arm Day" get them?

NDT

Steel Soldiers Supporter