• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Suddenly no "WAIT" light, vehicle won't start

darkchao

Hi all, currently freezing my ass off and posting mobile. Everything on the HMMWV was working fine until I went to start it 10 mins ago. Turned to "RUN" position, "WAIT" light came on as normal, I waited for the plugs to heat, and tried to start. Got nothing. The vehicle is in Neutral, and batteries seem to be fine as the headlights/interiors come on fine.

When I attempt to put the vehicle in "RUN" position now, the "WAIT" light doesn't illuminate, and it doesn't sound like the plugs heat up either. (Although you can hear a heavy "clunk" on and off, as if it's doing something.

I am still very new to the vehicles. Any insight is greatly appreciated.

dmetalmiki

I dont know the wiring on that vehicle, but That (particular) deisel engine uses a heater timer relay as I recall. I had the same symptom on my F350 deisel . And it was the timer relay for the glowplugs. Also on mine I had an intermittant starter solonoid fault. though the clunk you hear is probably that solonoid working on yours. It also swithes on the timer relay.?

kdaniels

Find your control box....lower left drivers side....check and make sure the wiring harness is tight going into the box. Next...check the voltage on BOTH batterys. They will not start under normal conditions if voltage drops below 18 volts.

SEMPER FI !!

keith

darkchao

Thanks for the information - It's helped speed this process along..

@Demetalmiki - You are correct, and I have verified that the "clanking" noise I spoke of is indeed the solenoid. Something else must have failed in the box. It's good to get some technical terms behind what I'm describing as clicks and clanks, haha.