• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Tan paint question

Milbikes

The paint on my soon-to-arrive M1008 is pretty nasty. It looks like it was painted with a cat on a stick. After a lot of searching previous posts on paint, I am still needing some tips. I like the look of the tan paint that the Desert Shield/Desert Storm trucks wore. As a shop teacher, I think if I drove in to work with a full camo paint job, some of my work mates would get a little.....different. I think a solid tan (With an inverted black V) would slip by. I also like the look of the solid tan. I researched some paint codes on a linked site, and there were a lot of weird tans. If anyone has pics of a tan painted vehicle, along with a paint brand/code, I'd be happy to look at a pic.

I have sprayed a fair amount of paint in the past, and like spraying. My safety gear would be a cartridge type respirator and a disposable suit. I would spray outside. I would sand the truck first with a sander attached to a shop vac, and wear my safety gear.

Do any of the military tan colors come in a semi-gloss, or are they all flat? Thanks for any tips. Hal

Green_gator

Hal,
You can get any of the paint colors that you want in a flat, semi gloss, or full on gloss. Any good paint shop can whip it up based upon the color code. I am using a paint that is a urethane based ultra flat. With the catalyst and hardener added it is lands somewhere beteen flat and semi gloss. The advantage is that it cleans more easily and does not absorb every spill. I can get you the specifics on the paint if you are interested. It is a light industrial paint used on things like school buses and trucks.

101coolcars

Steel Soldiers Supporter