• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

The 411 on a M54A1C

nastypyro

Hi all!

Another newbie here. I'm looking to buy my first military surplus ride. I'm leaning toward an M54a1c because someone reAlly close by has one for sale but I see many people on here with m35's and not too many m54's (could be wrong.) So are there any cons of the m54 at all? Better yet, what should I look for when I go take look at it.

Regards, Ethan

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
I've sworn off 5 tons a long time ago but an M54A1C would temp me, that is provided it still has the ENDT673 engine.

AMGeneral

Ok,I know the truck you are talking about,it has been on Ebay twice and it's in the classifieds here,and has been for a while.

It is a Mack powered M54A1C with out winch,has the later smaller turbo if I remember correctly from the pics.

The owner states it runs great and needs brake work,has been stored inside I believe.It has the earlier Ross Hydrapower steering.

The Good,

The Mack is a powerhouse in stock form,and will stand a little tweaking powerwise,I would say at least 250 hp with the proper modifications.

The truck looks to be in excellent shape in the pics,If I didn't already have 10 myself,I would have jumped on it,if it wasn't so far away.

The 5 tons have better brakes and good hyd power steering compared to the deuces,again,in my opinion.

It's a dropside truck,rare in the M39 series trucks,if you are planning to modify,bob or turn it into a major off road truck,probably not the best to start with,just my opinion.

The BAD,

Mack parts are EXPENSIVE!!(I know,I have 4 of them) expect big repair bills IF it develops engine problems,especially if you cannot do the repairs yourself.