• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

The river has gone dry

loosegravel

Just a retired mechanic who's having fun!
Good morning everyone. I haven't posted in a while, but only because I haven't been able to acquire any generators at all lately. It's like the river has gone dry! I've seen a couple of them up on the GP auction, but they're all the way down in CA. With the fuel prices being so high, it's just not a reasonable venture to bid on anything that far away. I haven't seen any generators up for auction in Washington, Oregon or Idaho for quite some time now. Being a retired mechanic, I really do miss working on these marvelous power producing machines. I've been able to meet some really cool people as the result of passing these generators on to others after going through them, load testing them etc. And, of course I've corresponded with a few really cool people here as well who have freely given their time to help me in the trouble-shooting process of many of the issues that I've been up against. I'm just wondering if others are seeing a decline with these MEP units at auction in other parts of the country?

Ray70

Most of the good machines dried up years ago, then prices went through the roof on the remaining junk around here, so I all but gave up buying them.
By around here I still mean a good 19+ Hr. round trip depending on traffic.
But honestly I'm really surprised how long the 80X series has been at auction. I thought I read somewhere that they were all supposed to have been disposed of well over 2 years ago according to some official mandate... :shrugs:

loosegravel