• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Tips on buying an M37?

cbvet

I'll probably be looking at an M37 for sale this weekend, & I'd appreciate some tips on what to watch for.

I was told that it is complete except for a cab top, light rust with no rust-through, engine won't run. Also has snow plow mechanism attached. That's all I know right now.

I'm an experienced mechanic on the older vehicles, but never worked on an M37.

What are some particular problems I should look for?

Thanks,
Eric

NDT

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I would be on the lookout for rust under the battery box and along the cowl under the windshield. Also in the front of the bed. In my opinion, buying M37's is all about finding a nice body. Mechanical problems and missing parts are an easier issue to solve than finding a good body to install on a running rust bucket. Good luck!

pwrwagonfire

I was told to check the inside of the two compartments on the side of the bed, and see if they are rusted out or not, also as NDT said check the battery box. I have been told that tailgates are rare in certain parts of the country, due to many fire depts using them and taking the tailgate off to operate the pump...not sure if that really matters but figured its worth a mention!

One thing I'd personally check if buying one again, is if it was converted to 12v...was it a hack job? My truck was converted VERY, VERY poorly...the alternator didn't even line up with the other pulleys

Good luck, make sure to post pictures!

STSCSS