• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

towing a Deuce with a 1 ton or 3/4 ton pickup

bugei

there is discussion about towing dueces with pickups being "acceptable". can you do that for 450 miles? or should i just drive the bad boy and keep the towing in case of "misshap"? thoughts?

new to me truck, seems to run great, all brakes work, just done by trustworthy mechanic.

i am new to this, i just dont want to be walking or trying to push my new duece off the road by hand.

all comments appreciated.

thanx
dan

WillWagner

The Person You Were Warned About As A Child
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
RE: towing a duece with a 1 ton or 3/4 ton pickup

Ida know, 13K rolling weight with no brakes doesn't sound fun to me. If all the mechanicals are good, brakes, steering, tires, etc, i'd drive it and have the p/u as a chase vehicle. Bring earplugs :driver:

citizensoldier

Well.. Guys have done this and been successful.. Someone towed a couple deuces home with a 715 with a V8 in it. I dont think they had to tow them that far though. I personaly would not tow a duece that far with anything else but a deuce or bigger.
Your looking at a 13k pound truck that in a pinch you will not be able to stop.. My 2cents drive it. If it breaks down then cross that bridge if and when it happens.

mangus580

I would strongly advise against it. Drive the deuce, tow your pickup (or something else) behind it for a 'backup' vehicle if you are worried about it.

Also, see the FAQ's on the left, and add your location please...

FreightTrain

Banned