• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Trailer Light Wiring/Plug

asg13

I have searched and cant seem to find the answer I am looking for. Unlike most here, I have little mechanic knowledge so therefore the green machine is going to the shop for a tune up and to fix a few odds and ends.

One issue I need to address is my trailer wiring. My truck is still 24 volts. Is there a plug and play application that I can plug into the existing plug? What are the chances it is still operative? Or should I have the shop rig something up to a traditional plug to work with my trailer now.

Thanks in advance.

MarcusOReallyus

Your truck is 12 volts, except for the starter circuit, and part of the glow plug circuit. The rest is 12 volts, pretty much stock GM.

There are adapters you can buy to go from your NATO plug to a standard 7 pin RV plug. I don't remember where I saw it, but it was over a hundred bucks.

To me, the simplest thing is to just replace the NATO plug with a standard civilian plug. Unless you see a need to keep the NATO plug....

Warthog

Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Helps to know what vehicle you are working on. And what type of trailer connector you want. 7-round, 6-round, 4-flat, etc

Many have used the t-connectors and added a 4-flat, but it does take a little modifing

cpf240

Which truck do you have? The M1009 will require an adapter if you don't want to tap into or change the existing wiring. There are threads here on making an adapter to plug into either the NATO plug or the weather-pack connectors that feed the NATO plug. If you have one of the other CUCVs, M1008, etc, then the commercial trailer light adapters for that era truck should be plug and play with the correct harness from places like etrailer, etc.