• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Try to purchase a used MEP generator

LMT19

I am new to MEP generator. I try to get one from govliq online auction. I wonder if it is worth to get one from online used but working condition unknown or from ebay at higher price. It takes much trouble to fix or repair problems?
Thanks.

Triple Jim

I wrote this in a previous thread. It is not a recommendation, just my experience:
After a long period of researching generators to back up my whole house and shop, I decided I wanted an MEP-003A. I have too many projects now, and didn't want another one, so I chose to buy one in working condition from an eBay seller with 100% feedback who buys them, fixes them up, and resells them. I'm sure you can find a better deal by buying directly at auction and doing the repairs, but for $2400+shpg I got exactly what I wanted. At the seller's suggestion, I used uShip to find a trucking company with a good price. It turned out to be $330 to have the unit picked up with a lift-gate truck, wrapped in a blanket and stretch wrapped, strapped to a pallet, trucked about 500 miles, and delivered to me on a lift-gate truck. I'm sure the pallet wasn't necessary, but they did it.

I don't see one on eBay at the moment, but they do come up fairly regularly. Of course you're not guaranteed to get a perfect unit from eBay, but I talked to this seller on the phone about the generator ahead of time, got shipping advice, and the feeling he was sincere. He even suggested I do an Internet search for his name to find out more about him.