• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Trying to modify my Deuce to tow a U-haul, inexpensively

Loco_Hosa

Ok, I am making preparations to tow with my truck. Im trying to do it inexpensively, but Im not sure how to determine weight ratings on a home grown job, and Im not sure what U-haul will require to prove its weight capacity.

The two most important requirements:

• Must have 1-7/8" or 2" hitch ball (3,500 lbs. minimum)
  • Must not exceed maximum allowable hitch ball height 25"
I am a decent welder, and my roommate works at a machine shop, so I am willing to trade some fab work to keep the costs low. What I need to know is how do we determine weight capacity.

Most important aspect is cost, fallowed by removability. I have searched, and found hitches of many different strengths and capacity's.

KsM715

Build it, load it till it breaks, and rate it a certain % under the breaking weight. Thats the only way to actually determine what it will hold.

25" off the ground is going to be one low hanging hitch on a deuce.

If you search a littleon this site, there are a few home-built hitches that drop pretty low and are also removeable.

Last edited:

doghead

4 Star General /Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
What are you towing? How far? What kind of roads?

wreckerman893

Possum Connoisseur
What are you towing? How far? What kind of roads?
More important is who are you towing for?

If you are doing this as a commercial venture you better have commercial tow insurance......one accident and a pit bull trial lawyer and you are done.

Just a friendly warning.......your milage may vary.

Loco_Hosa

I am trying to tow a 94 Mustang GT from riverside California to Tacoma Wa on a U-haul Tow dolly.