• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Turbo questions Need help with newer 6.5NA motor

Thesaint025

Ok guys I'm new to SS and I am looking for some help, I have recently purchased a few hmmwv's all have the 6.2 motors I have not taken possession of them yet still waiting! I had the opertunity to pick up a few low mile 2010 6.5 take out's but would realy like to have the Turbo Diesel is this a simple task? Can I simply add a turbo from a 6.5 take off or is there more to it? I can get my hands on the 6.5 TD complete take out, but it is a bit more money and the turbos have all been cut so I would be buying a EBay replacement turbo unit anyways! I can get the exhaust and doghouse if simply adding a turbo to my 6.5 will work, thanks guys for all your imput in advance!

Last edited:

gimpyrobb

dumpsterlandingfromorbit!
The only 6.5 with a turbo that will fit is the center mount turbo. The heads are different than any other 6.5(aside from van motors), so you'd be better off buying a complete driveline.

Action

some things that will need done are a body lift, new doghouse, and modifying the tunnel around where the new doghouse will fit.

Retiredwarhorses

Steel Soldiers Supporter