• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Unimog 404 drivetrain issues

kingjon3rd

Newbie here looking for some help!

I picked up a 1967 404.1 unimog and it's been sitting for the past 13 years out in the weather(it ran and drove when they parked it there). Before I dump too much into it I want to get it rolling and running.*

With the vehicle in 2 wheel drive, the 6 speed trans in nuetral, the dif levers disconnected, the rear tires will only spin with both rear tires lifted and in opposite directions.* When one of the rear tires is on the ground the rear tire won't spin.* If I jack the front left tire up, it spins freely in either direction.

I decided to put the truck in 6th gear with the rear lifted and spin the tires by hand to see if it would it would spin the engine. I was expecting it just to lock up but nothing changed and the fan wouldn't spin.

Any thoughts of what I should check next to see if I can get this chassis rolling?

tennmogger

Steel Soldiers Supporter
From your testing, the diffs are both unlocked as you stated, but transmission may not be in neutral as you thought because, first: if the front end allows one tire to spin with one tire on the ground then that verifies the 4wd gears in the rear of the transmission are not engaged. Therefore, if one rear tire will not spin then the driveshaft is not spinning and the transmission is not spinning (not really being in neutral is 'easy' conclusion to that test). These transmissions are easy to get hung up between the 1-2 side of the gears, and the 3-4-5-6 side. Try reshifting across the "Gate" a few times to try to unlock it. This is tricky without power so use care to not force the shifter.