• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Unloading an M1082 - Caging Bolts and other unloading strategies

m_o_n_t_y

Short version: Does anyone have the exact specs for the caging bolts for an M1082?

Long version: I bought an M1082 on GP that is being delivered this week. I am a total beginner at this. I do not know if the caging bolts are in their storage location, so I'd love to have an extra set on hand if necessary. Also... in searching the forum to see if this was already answered elsewhere, I read that sometimes the brakes are just rusted shut anyway. I read about prying them apart and rocking the trailer back-and-forth with the tow vehicle to try to break them apart, but I'm not sure that's going to work if it's on the delivery guy's trailer. Any other thoughts/advice regarding getting it unloaded? I have a friend with a fork lift, not sure if it has the capacity/reach for this job though? Thanks gentlemen, I'm already learning a lot from your previous threads.

NDT

Steel Soldiers Supporter
If you go to a heavy duty truck parts house and ask for “air brake caging bolts” they will fix you right up, they seem to be universal. If you study your auction pics you might see if the brakes are caged or not, if yes you will see a stud with nut protruding from the air brake canisters. A forklift to unload this from the side will need to be a big un, like 15000 capy with xl forks. Your auction rep might be able to let you know if your trailer rolls or not.

m_o_n_t_y