• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Wait light on with battery disconnected

NVAM998

Steel Soldiers Supporter
New to me M998. Thought I'd put in a keyed ignition switch. Disconnected the neg rear batt terminal to the chassis for safety. Wired in the new switch. Turned it to the on position before putting it in the dash and the brake and wait lights came on. Wow, but I'm a newbie to the vehicle . So I disconnected the most positive lead on the front battery. Lights come on, but I don't hear the solenoid click. Very strange. Previous owner had a siren and lights attached to the rear battery, but they were removed when I pulled the negative terminal. Is there some type of backup charge somewhere that would cause the lights to be powered even with main batteries disconnected? I installed the switch in the dash and it all works but I find this very strange and I'm hesitant to do much else until I can find out where the power is coming from.

Thanks for any help!

TOBASH

Father, Surgeon, Cantankerous Grouch
Steel Soldiers Supporter
You have a second battery system or a capacitor or some type of hidden battery connection somewhere.

Look to see if the prior sirens and lights had a battery system

Mainsail

Steel Soldiers Supporter
New to me M998. Thought I'd put in a keyed ignition switch. Disconnected the neg rear batt terminal to the chassis for safety.
Did you verify no voltage before you started working? Only disconnecting one of the batteries might not be zero volts in your wiring?

FlameRed

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I kind of had a similiar experience.