• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

What to do with my new M1008

1StumpJumper

Greetings, newbie here.

So here is my story. I have lurked around SS for quite some time. It is a great site with tons of information. So much so that there was nothing for me to contribute without having a MV. Fast forward and here we are. I recently bought a m1008 at a Ft Lewis/McChord GS sale. When I got it home I got it running & took it for a drive. WOW, these buggars are SLOW. The drive train is solid, runs great (once started), drives fine (other than Death Wobble wich is easily enough remedied). The body is quite rough, no rust, just beat up. The passenger door & roof are the only body panels that do not have a major dent in them.

I bought this truck on the presumption that it did not run. It was intended to be a donor to convert my Suburban to a CUCV clone. I had planned on just using the grille, bumpers & axles then parting out & scrapping the rest (I have already sold a few small parts already). After driving it if I go the CUCV Burban route, I will swap the engine, wiring harness, dash, and items listed above.

My problem is that I hate to kill a CUCV and do not want to spend the time / money on another pickup.

I am aware of the work involved either way. I see the following options:

1. Get parts truck and swap darn near the whole body over.

2. Sell it as it is to someone who wants it as an M1008, not parts.

3. Utilize it for CUCV Burban.

What would you do?

ABN173

Post some pictures and we can give you a better opinion. These things are getting harder to find I just saw a beat up non-runner go for 4k on a Alabama GL truck. Value will go up, I vote to save it.

-Dale