• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

What to look out for when buying an LMTV

nqmad

I am hoping that people can either point me to a thread, or give me some general pointers here. I am wanting to buy an LMTV, and am looking for some general pointers to watch out for when doing a walk round on a possible truck purchase. The last truck I looked at did a big lurch either forward or backwards when you released the parking brake and put it into gear. Is this normal? Should I put it into gear first and then release the parking brake? Sorry, complete newbie here. All feedback gratefully received :)

GeneralDisorder

Steel Soldiers Supporter
What year/generation are you looking at? A0, A1, A1R, etc?

Generally speaking, automatic transmission engagement should be positive and that isn't necessarily a bad thing. You want them to lock in to gear and not slip - slippage = wear. So a "lurch" isn't unexpected on the earlier (A0) versions. Later models (A1R, etc) are much more refined in their engagement and shifting.

Older models often experience improvement in engagement and shifting "harshness" by switching to Allison transynd or other ATF instead of the 15w40 they were equipped with.

RRaulston

I am hoping that people can either point me to a thread, or give me some general pointers here. I am wanting to buy an LMTV, and am looking for some general pointers to watch out for when doing a walk round on a possible truck purchase. The last truck I looked at did a big lurch either forward or backwards when you released the parking brake and put it into gear. Is this normal? Should I put it into gear first and then release the parking brake? Sorry, complete newbie here. All feedback gratefully received :)