• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Why are front rims positive offset?

Unforgiven

On large trucks such as the Deuce or any other big truck the front rims are always positive offset (as opposed to negative "deep dish" offset).

I am a novice to large truck design. I'm just curious why every large truck has positive offset on the steer axle? Is it simply to aid steering or is there a safety issue involved?

Smaller "regular" trucks often run deep dish rims all the way around to widen the stance.

Positive offset:
semi-trucks-for-sale.jpg

0612dp_02_z+2003_dodge_ram_3500_1ton+front_view.jpg

Negative offset:
p7162612.jpg

I'm just curious why large trucks never have negative offset tires up front.

doghead

4 Star General /Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
The fronts need to steer(turn). They pivot at the kingpin. If you had dish out, the distance from the pivot point to the center of the tire would be greater. The shorter, the better, to lessen the force needed to steer.

That's just one reason.

armytruck63

Plus, the wheels are the same as the duals in the rear. That means you can move the wheels anywhere on the truck, and the spare tire goes on anywhere.

Unforgiven

Aha, that makes sense. But the kingpin is strong enough to take the load, correct? Otherwise the 4x4 guys running big deep-dish tires would be shearing the pin during hard turns right?

B3.3T

Doghead and armytruck63 are both exactly right. With all that weight on the front, unless the tires match the pivot point steering would be really difficult, even with power. Its all in the physics...

cjtroutt

CW2 26 BDE HHC S6
Steel Soldiers Supporter