• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Why are there 2 batteries?

koolex11

I know it's a total noob question, but I'm trying to learn as much as I can before purchasing. I know 2 batt. = 24V. But what is the advantage to have that in a CUCV? If I understand correctly, if one battery dies then the truck dies, so one doesn't back up the other. So I guess what I'm wondering is why do MVs run 24V?

Not a mechanic, trying to learn something new and figured an MV might be a fun place to start!

Sorry if this answer is somewhere already. This site is huge! Thanks for your patience...

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
The military uses 24V on all ov there other tactical vehicles. It would make sense that this vehicle also have 24V so that it can slave or be slaved off of other trucks. Mil radios used in vehicles also are 24V, another need for it. 24V is actually a superiour voltage for starting circuits and the like.

koolex11

Can you temporarily rewire to bypass one dead battery and start the truck if needed? Or doesn't it work that way? I'm just thinking, what if I show up at GL on recovery day and 1 batt is dead from sitting? Want to avoid towing if possible.

wreckerman893

Possum Connoisseur
Diesels are high compression engines....in cold weather it takes a lot of Cold Cranking Amps (CCA) to start them.

Even my Ford Ranger Diesel has two batteries in it and it's a small 4 banger.

Lots of civy diesel trucks have dual batteries but they are set up for 12 rather than 24 volt.

If one battery is dead it is better to put two new ones in (or two used of the same voltage).