• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Winch problems

YBC Offroad

Hey everybody, I'm new to the forums but I need help. I have a M925A2 6x6 and I'm scratching my head on why my winch isn't working. I found the winch operation steps in the manual and followed them step by step. The drive shaft for the PTC engages like it should and the hydraulic reservoir is filled. The linkage moves when I move the winch wind/unwind lever, but the winch just flat out doesn't move either way. Any ideas what is going wrong? I'm stumped. I don't have much experience and I couldn't find anything relating to this problem. If you have ideas please try to explain how and where I do the adjustment or whatever you recommend.

Thank you in advance,
Jake

YBC Offroad

I'm new to military trucks so I'm not entirely sure what the spool valve is but I can look tomorrow because it's dark outside. Can you specify where to locate the spool valve?

R Racing

About a foot more inboard than the hydraulic pump. There is a cable that runs to it that moves the spool. It gets water and snow and salt splashed on them and they rust and don't move. Some pb blaster and a hammer with a aluminum drift or brass . Also if I remember correctly there is a hex on the shaft. I worked mine back and forth. As well as beat it . It took about 45 min to get mine freed up.

dikwks

It is on the right side of the truck just forward of the pump, mounted to the aft bracket that holds the passenger side step. Got one of the push-pull cables that lead from the cab attached the forward side at the spool valve.

YBC Offroad

If you guys mean the cable that moves when you use the winch wind/unwind lever inside the cab, that cable moves just fine. It moved underneath the truck, I watched it.