• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Bought a new turbo, but.....

dieselsmokem35a2

Hello Everyone!
I am a newbie here and this will be my first post. Been lurking in the background for over a year now. This sight is great and has made my Hobie of O.D. Iron a lot more fun!
So on with my question.....I recently bought a new turbo from TNJ Murray and got it in the mail yesterday. Needless to say I was happier than a kid on Christmas and savored every minute of unpacking the box. I am sure many of you can relate!? Anyway, I quickly realized that this turbo seemed much bigger than the old one. The pictures down below show the original and the new TNJ bought turbo. From what I understand (which isn't much these days) there is a "C" and a "D" turbo for these trucks. The "C" turbo was the first version and also the "Whistler". The "D" turbo came a little later and had lost it's whistle but gained you 10hp. Am I right so far? So my assumption is that since my old turbo has a loud and glorious whistle to it I have the "C" turbo and the one Memphis sent me is a "D" turbo? I asked the guy at Memphis and he said he never heard of a "C" or "D" turbo. Just that they have new/re-built turbos for the 2 1/2 ton trucks. So if this is indeed a "D" turbo will it bolt in place of the old one without any further mods? Will I need to adjust the Fuel? Will i lose my wonderful whistle completely? I love that whistle! Not sure I would trade my whistle for 10hp. Can you tell I love the whistle? Anyway, any thoughts or input would be greatly appreciated! By the way, included a few extra pictures because I always enjoy seeing other peoples posts with lots of pictures.

Attachments

clinto

Moderator, wonderful human being & practicing Deuc
Staff member