• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Does the M35A3 really make a good FD Brush Truck

MRFD715

Hello everyone, I'm a newbie here and I'm trying to learn about military trucks on behalf of our FD. We recently acquired a M915A4 Line-Haul Tractor through DRMO and when we picked it up our state forestry rep showed us several M35A3's they have availiable and told us that they make good brush trucks. My question is do they really? I've done a search and read lots of threads about build-ups of them, but I couldn't find much info about how well they actually performed.

To give you a little insight as to what we are thinking of doing, we are looking to put a 600 gallon tank and gas-powered pump in the bed. Our terrain around here is mostly open fields with very little hills or wooded areas. What do you guys think? Is there a better chassis for what we're looking at doing? Our total yearly budget is a little less than $40,000 so that's why we're trying to find the most affordable options available to us. Thanks for any thoughts/suggestions you may have!

Josh

flyxpl

If you don't mind a max speed of 48mph . Also count on getting a set of new tires . The tires on thses trucks are getting to be old enough to be unsafe , especially haulling a load of water in an emergency .

ratat98

I'm a local emergency management director and almost every VFD around here has at least one M35A3 for a brush truck. They all seem to like them! Look pretty slick too!