• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Gama Goat Tours?

HUM469

I am brand spanking new here, and I hope it isn't bad manners of me to register just to ask a series of questions, but I it looks like this forum can help and if anyone is willing to chime in, I would appreciate it.

I have just come across a Gama Goat this weekend local to me and I am extremely intrigued. I am an outfitter and tour operator in Arizona, and this truck is local, seems to be a steal of a price, and has been retrofitted with a GM V8 and 700R auto-tranny that seem to be up to the task of moving it along well. Because of the price, I am tempted to buy it and put it to work in my tour company offering a very unique, interesting way of shuttling people along a couple of rivers I do tours on, as well as doing straight up desert 4x4 tours kind of like the Hummer Tour companies that seem to be popular out here. Is this a crazy idea?

I spent most of my non-working hours over the last 2.5 days reading everything I can find about the Gama Goat. I know with the old diesel, it was slow, loud, and possibly troublesome. This new engine/tranny combo I am very familiar with and know they can hold up to tour use. Are there any other systems or potential issues with Gamas I should be aware of? Is there any reason (other than what I assume will be horrible gas mileage) that the Gama would not be appropriate to these proposed commercial uses? Has anyone seen any company use a Gama in tour operations before? Any other thoughts or input would be appreciated too. Thank you for reading and thank you in advance to any input you can provide.