• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

help... 1008 and 1009 keep SNAPPING off starter studs!!!

bruno_rs

hey guys, i'm new the site and cucv's. let me start by saying i'm not a mechanic... well , backyard... kinda sorta. that being said, last year i purchased a 1008 and 1009. both have snapped the starter mount bolts off in the block... the 1009 did it twice. i had a friend who is a chevy mechanic repair it initially and then by an auto electrician, just last week. does anyone know the correct starter for the cucv's , its' part #, where to get these starters and what it should cost? moreover, is there a special procedure and/or kit to PROPERLY install the cucv starters?... i don't want to keep going thru this disaster time after time. is this a reoccurring problem you all hear alot of? lastly, i need glow plugs... both trucks will not start (cold) without ether. where should i go to purchase the right and/or best glow plugs for the (6.2) 1008 & 1009? what should a set of glow plugs set me back? you all seem to know these trucks inside and out therefore, i figured i'd cut to the chase and ask the REAL pros. looking forward to you responses. thanks guys, have a good one.

acetomatoco