• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

How hard to reseal/boot front axle??

Harleighguy

So just HOW hard is it to reseal and reboot the front axle?? My drivers side axle seal has begun leaking and I want to get a feel for what it's going to take to fix it. I will be doing one side then the other, but not in the same day. I work as a tech for Honda and will be doing it at work.

Clay James

I had to do both sides twice. It's really difficult to get the seal retainers out with a slide hammer. It's easier to get them out if you take both sides off and just knock it out with a pipe from the other side. Other than that it's not too difficult. That writeup mikey linked is the guide I used.

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
My record is 75 minutes for one side. I have some experience though! Few hours is accurate.

jasonjc

Make sure you put some sealer on the retainer when you put it back in. I also find it easyer to use a pipe from the other side to knock out the retainer.

Chevracer87

Just did mine last week. It's not a difficult job if you have the correct tools but putting the boot on is a two person job! You will need the extra hands while tightening the large clamp down

Clay James

Just did mine last week. It's not a difficult job if you have the correct tools but putting the boot on is a two person job! You will need the extra hands while tightening the large clamp down
I've done 4 by myself now:grin: Not super easy though, it slips back off a lot. I found using an electric drill to put the bolts back in makes it a lot easier.

DieselBob

Clean! clean! the grove and the boots will stay on much better.
:ditto: