• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M model?

appalacious

Hey guys, newbie here.
I just got an 86 CUCV from gov't auction. But I have no idea if its M1008 or M1009. How do you tell? I have the VIN number if that would help. Also, theres no key switch and I'd like to just install a push-button start. Has anyone done this? Does anyone have a wiring diagram? Thanks in advance. Here's a pic.
J

Attachments

wallew

Steel Soldiers Supporter
appalacious,
What BFR said was correct. Perhaps a slight modification is M1008, think PICKUP truck.

Welcome to our Green Iron family.

You just gotta get us some more pix. I am also looking for a nice M1009 to replace my Suburban that I just sold to my sister and BIL.

So, you gotta take more pic AND provide us with more details. WE LOVE DETAILS.

Again, welcome to the Green Iron Disease!! You know this will only be the start. I got a deuce first. NOW I just gotta have an M1009!!

jim

wallew

Steel Soldiers Supporter
appalacious,
I've got the M35 wiring diagram that's posted here somewhere. If you want it, send me an email. It's an Adobe PDF file and not that large.

Oh, the start switch for the deuce is only two wires. I ASSUME (I know, I know) that its just a simple open and it doesn't send any juice to the starter, closed and it sends 24v to starter, though I did NOT trace it all the way down to the starter.

jim

mangus580

appalacious, all the wiring diagrams for the blazer are in the TM section. Why not just replace the factory ignition switch though?

appalacious