• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M1083 & Gichner S280 Overland Expedition Build

acropilot

Hi All,

I have been working on my truck for about 9 months at an aggressive pace trying to turn it into an overland Expedition Truck. I'll try to post a little bit each day till it is caught up to where I am currently with the build:

This is as i got the truck late last year: (2005 with C7 Cat. 3040 miles on it). In great condition.

DSC04630.jpg

Changed the Air Dryer and replaced all hydraulic lines. Replaced the spare tire actuating cylinder.

She is home next to the Gichner S280 that i bought. It was a former Battery repair station and overhauled in 2011. Took out about 3000 pounds with of cabinetry and gear out of it.
DSC04639.jpg

Overdrive

Those battery repair station S280s with the shower setup are pretty sweet. Great score!

I am still trying to find an S280 with the dolly mounts to setup my Overland trailer with the M720 dolly I won.

Last edited:

acropilot

Hey Overdrive. Thanks for your post. Yeah the S280 was a great score. It was rebuilt in 2013. Lots good gear in there. I repurposed as much as I could..
Good luck in your search.

Karl kostman

Steel Soldiers Supporter