• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M35 tow-bar an M820?

fuzzytoaster

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Can an M35A2 pull a M820 with a towbar? I'm new to the idea of towing and simply cant afford to pay for shipping. Would someone care to elaborate more on this?

73m819

Rock = older than dirt , GA. MAFIA , Dirty
Steel Soldiers Supporter
In Memorial
i would NOT, the 820 weighs almost 3 times the deuce, it will went to push the the towing truck amoung other things, BAD, BAD, BAD idea

Last edited:

fuzzytoaster

Steel Soldiers Supporter
And thats why I ask before anything. Just got eventually figure out a way to get an M820 home on a tight budget if it doesnt run is all.

area52

Can it pull it? yes Can it stop it? NO!

What costs more? paying someone to haul it home or legal fees when you crash into some innocent person?

What is wrong with it? Any chance on getting it running?

fuzzytoaster

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I dont have either just yet, but am just brain storming for the worst case scenario. Assume the worst and hope for the best as I always say. My other option would just be to pay a fellow SS member a bit to tow-bar it home, not too far now.

Crash_AF

How far are you talking?
Do you have/can you get interconnection hoses so that the 5 ton's brakes work?
Do the 820's brakes work? Will it hold air?

If you're talking a short trip at low (30MPH or less) speeds and with hoses so that the 820's brakes will help stop it, then it is feasible but not recommended. Definitely would want at least a 5 Ton to do the towing so that you have the extra margin of error in the braking dept.

Good luck getting it home.

Later,
Joe

goldneagle