• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Mep 803 with problems shutting down

Triton

I'm new to diesel generators but I have been reading a lot here. I acquired an 803 and started checking it out. I saw this unit running and putting out power and being used several months ago. Owner said it just quit putting out power and he was not going to mess with it.

Here is what I have problems with so far:

Engine started fine
It's has 60 hz on the gauge that can be adjusted
It's not showing any voltage on the gauge
Convenience plug has 120volts
Selector switch behind panel is in 120/240 single phase
Selector switch on outside of panel is on 1 L3 L1
None of the out put lugs have power

Now for the big thing, went to turn the engine off and it would not stop with switch
Pushed the emergency stop button and nothing
Went to engine and pulled the solenoid stop lever and it did nothing just moved back and forth freely
Had to pull the air hose off and choke the air off to stop the engine

I guess I should start with getting the engine to shut down first but don't know what to look at, any suggestions?
Thanks
Keith

Triton

I went to get a video of the solenoid cut off and the lever is fully forward. I tried to start the unit with the front panel to see if it is working and now there is no power to the switch in any position and no power to the panel lights. It does dead crank, strange it worked before!

Haoleb

There is a note in the manual that if the injection pumps get turned clockwise that you may experience an issue where the unit will not shut off. When you hit the switch to close the output contactor in the unit does the green light come on? Sounds like the contactor is not closing.

Triton