• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

My M35A2 went though Hurricane Isaac and needs help

fduvic1

Hey guys I'm 22 and I got my deuce 4 years ago, so I have some experience with working on it. But this week mother nature through me a curveball. I live in southeast Louisiana and my town got hammered by Isaac.

I'm here to tell you that I love this truck and it worked amazingly through the storm. I was asked by the sheriff’s department to help rescue people out of my neighborhood. My deuce pulled 55 people and 10 animals out through 5.5' of water and howling winds. It also pulled a bottomed out 50 foot long RV out of a 4' deep ditch.

It did all this after I found out the week before that two cylinders had bad piston rings which were pushing oil into the exhaust manifold and it also has two bad head gaskets. So as I’m pushing through this water it was overheating and at one point pegged the gauge but there was nothing I could do but keep driving. The truck would not give up.

So it got a little banged up but what I need to know is what I need to do to make sure going through high water doesn't damage it in the long run. You know as far as fluids and anything else that might be at risk. Y'all input would help me out a lot. Thanks.

Attachments

dmetalmiki

Deep water gets into those places it doesent need to be..I.E. (a good service) Check DIFFS. then x/fer and gearbox. Was the fording plug in the bell housing? . Inside drums to clean and clear mud/dirt.-sevice adjusters. You can check for ingress into the brake servo. Just do a thorough and patient job..See tms also. You did a great service to your comunity. WELL DONE.

glcaines

Steel Soldiers Supporter