• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Ouverson engineering 4.90 gear set

GoinNutts

Has anyone used the Ouverson engineering 4.90 gear set and locker set up? Living in the concrete jungle I have to hit the freeway to get anywhere and would like to not have to wind out my truck. I have a A2 as pictured but am going to go to 1450's.

m-35tom

Supporting Vendor
i am curious why you would consider spending twice as much on this as the od kit costs? plus all the extra work and the truck will be severly limited in off road capabilities.

tom

GoinNutts

I am no expert on these trucks and that is why I asked. What is the OD Kit you speak of. I am looking for any practical experience on this subject. Please shed light!

Thanks

rjones

Has anyone actually installed either the 4.90 gear set from Ouverson Engineering or the 5.41 from Gearhart Engineering on an M35A3?

Yes I have searched the threads.

Results for each with my set up:
http://store.oemaxle.com/product_info.php?cPath=14&products_id=55
37% increase - 6.72./4.90 or 0.729 the other way.
52 MPH = 2800 RPM - new RPM 2042
2800 RPM new MPH = 71
2552 RPM new MPH = 65
$1200 each
Seems on the verge of too much reduction.

http://www.gearharteng.com/assets/images/10.jpg
Gearhart Engineering has 5.41
24% increase - 6.72./5.41 or 0.805 the other way.
52 MPH = 2800 RPM - new RPM 2254
2800 RPM new MPH = 64
$2200 each
Seems on the verge of not quite enough and nearly twice the cost.

73m819

Rock = older than dirt , GA. MAFIA , Dirty
Steel Soldiers Supporter
In Memorial
Has anyone actually installed either the 4.90 gear set from Ouverson Engineering or the 5.41 from Gearhart Engineering on an M35A3?

Yes I have searched the threads.

Results for each with my set up: