• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Problem shooting on my m37

Jesse19rap

Hi Everyone,

1st issue
I'm a Noob here and to the hobby for that matter and have a couple amatuer questions. I bought a 1962 m37 about a month ago. Recently I've been able to get it running pretty well. She will sit there and idle, rev in neutral for as long as i want. Every once in a while i will drive it around our farm and this is where the problems start. I parked it after driving it for 10 minutes and once turned off it will NOT restart for hours. I checked the distributor and it seems to have a weaker spark when it's hot than during the initial start-up. When i took the dist. cover off i realized the black rotor cap is really loose. I can twist it a good half inch without the "post" moving. On other vehicles theses are always tight. Could that be the problem? Any ideas where to look. It seems to be heat related.

2nd issue
I'm not sure if these two problems are related but who knows. I changed the oil and flushed the brake lines this week and realized the oil was extremely thin. Upon further review i realized there was gas in the oil. I finished the oil change and fired it up hoping that the problem didn't still exist. I drove it for another 10 minute spell then it died on me in the middle of the field. To my dismay the gas had again went into the oil. The truck had been sitting outside for about two years and I think things are seized up. Any ideas where to look for this issue. Any and all advice will be greatly appreciated as I am still learning the simplest of things on this truck.

On a positive note my manuals should come in today!

Thanks ~Jesse

WillWagner

The Person You Were Warned About As A Child
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter