• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

SEORTM Shop truck gen problems - Any help? No output. Model Lima MAC 3165-0083

Hi guys,

I bought the SEORTM M844A1 shop truck out of Fontana a couple weeks ago. Got lots of goodies with her but I bought a few problems too...:???:

I can engage the PTO, and get the gen head turning. It has a 25KW Lima MAC PTO driven Alternator w/ distribution panel. Gen head PN# is 3165-0083. I've got no juice on any of the output leads. I know enough about general electrical to keep from getting zapped and know where and how to read voltage with a DVM.

I have read threads about the smaller MEP03's needing the fields flashed. Is this applicable to a larger gen head as well? I have ZERO experience with gen sets. I have read about the electric drill method, also using a 12V battery. I'm a little leery about trying either as I don't know enough to know if this may damage the gen head.

Any input from any experts or somebody who's done this? If it's not the field where do I look next? I can't find a current TM for the SEORTM shop body. The manuals on the net are circa 1972 and the gen panel is completely different. So, anybody got a TM or know where to find one would be great as well!

Thanks!

Chris R in Phoenix

dependable

Here is manual for PTO driven 12.5KW Lima Mac from 1031. Its principal of operation is probably similar. Hope it helps.

It is supposed to be self exited. The diodes can get fried, but are replaceable. There are flashing instructions in manual as well.

Attachments

Last edited:

Lieutenant
Steel Soldiers Supporter