• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

WI to MN M915 recovery question

buck

I'm looking at picking up a M915 in WI in the near future. As a MN farmer I'm not required to have a CDL for what I use a tractor trailer for, so I haven't gotten one yet. I've spent many years farming in SD within 200 miles of home but never really had to deal with scales or DOT to much as they are easy to avoid on the western border. Coming back from WI will be a different story and it's alittle out of my area of experience.

If I happen to win one, I'ld like to just drive it home after making sure it's road worthy and has insurance of course. Hualing it home would be expensive, and I'ld rather drive it myself than getting someone with a CDL to drive it for me. When I get west of the Twin Cities I'm home free. I'm just a little concerned about getting past the border scales and DOT without having problems.

Any info from someone with some area specific "been there, done that" experience would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

I drove my first m915a1 from Topeka Kansas, all scales and check points were closed. Of corse I have my class A CDL and all paperwork and insurance in order just in case. Only had to stop for toll roads points. Here in New Mexico and when I run to El Paso Tx, the DOT waves me through the check points, they do know my trucks are my personal trucks not for hire and have all paperwork current. The border patrol check points wave me through also.
I always make sure to do pretrip inspection for safety and anything that would draw attention to the truck, leaks, lights,etc. Good luck.

Last edited: