• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

New here and have a couple questions

Rapracing

Forgive me if I ask stupid questions, I am new at this Genset thing. I have been looking for an MEP-002a for several months, in fact over a year. I was waiting for the prices to fall a bit but it hasn't happened. In fact they just keep going up. Anyways, I did win an auction that GSA had on a 002 this past week and will be picking it up sometime next week. According to the meter it has 7.8 hours on it. Cosmetically it looks 90% or better in the pics.

What are the things I need to do when I get it home?
Good place to get fuel, air and oil filters?
I notice that they should not be idled. Do I start it at idle and then throttle up or should I have the throttle already increased when starting?
What am I missing?

Thanks in advance for any input

massey

Welcome aboard.

Here is the Wiki, very informative.

http://www.steelsoldiers.com/showthread.php?62648-MEP-002A-and-003A

I bought my filters on Amazon.

Before you start it, make sure it has oil and an oil filter in it, check the fuel filters. Bleed the fuel system. I change filters after I get it running and see what exactly I've got.

Make sure the injection pump isn't stuck.

It should be at or near 1800 rpm when it starts if not adjust for 60hz and look for oil pressure.

I'm sure others will add recommendations also.

Good luck

Ed

Walt4653