• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

?? Starting of in 2nd gear??

crazywelder72

Ok, we all know I am new to this and i am not ashamed to admit it.:cookoo: I took the beast for my first real local check-out ride. I quickly remembered how quick 1st gear climbs and seems to not be necessary when empty on flat ground.

It seemed to handle just fine pulling off from a stop in 2nd gear but I don't know if this is acceptable or harmful.

Any thoughts?

DeucesWild11

I was wondering the same. 1st gear is so low when you switch over to 2nd you're barely moving anyway. The TM states First is First. Perhaps starting in 2nd will burn out the clutch faster..?
Inquiring minds want to know! ha.

tiny110

Banned
Back when I ran the 9 - 11 tires I would start out in sec it sometimes. No I am running a 46 inch tires and I don't think it would be too good for the clutch. From what I understand the clutch is the weak link in the drivetrain. But I am trying to make my clutch last as long as possible. It just looks like a lot of work to change it.

APM215

I do it all the time with my truck. Others might tell you the shaft size on the second gear is a weak point, but I think it would only be a issue if the truck was fully loaded. Bottom line is it is your truck and you know what it likes.

DeucesWild11

I suppose it's a little less stress on a bobbed deuce.. no? A little less weight to get rolling. I try to pick when starting in 2nd like if I can begin with a slow roll downhill.. when uphill I always use first.

bigugh20

I think it is because you can take off in first (or 2nd low range) without having to rev the motor/slip the clutch to get it going. There is a key somewhere in the transmission that likes to shear.

DeucesWild11